Danish Puffs

It has been quite a while since I posted a recipe of my mother’s.   So, I decided to go through her recipe box and see what she had to offer.

Recently, I have been on a kick about Scandinavia, most specifically, Sweden.  So, I thought I would see if she had anything for me.  Also, with David’s recent surgery, we have been looking for new recipes, and I am in a definite rut!

I found a collection of recipes my mother must have cut from the Blue Bonnet margarine packages!  This recipe was from their “Danish Menu”.  (Not exactly Swedish, but Denmark is close!)  Who doesn’t like coffee cake?  Plus, I love the flavor of almonds!

Danish Puffs

1 cup (2 sticks) margarine (butter)
2 cups sifted flour
2 tablespoons cold water
1 cup boiling water
1 teaspoon almond extract
3 eggs
2 cups sifted confectioners’ (icing) sugar)
1 tablespoon margarine (butter)
1/4 cup cream
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt

Cut 1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter into 1 cup flour.  Add cold water, stir well until blended.  Divide dough in half.  Press each half into a 3 x 12-inch oblong on an ungreased baking sheet.

Place boiling water and remaining 1/2 cup butter into a saucepan.  Bring to a boil.  Add almond extract, remove from heat.  Stir in remaining 1 cup flour.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Spread this mixture over the oblongs.  Bake in a hot oven (425) about 50 minutes.

Meanwhile, combine confectioner’s sugar and tablespoon margarine, cream, vanilla and salt.  Beat until smooth.  Frost cakes while hot.  Cut into slices and serve warm.

Yields: 16 servings

Leave a Reply

