Flank Steak Marinade

Today was a very windy day!  After doing my usual rounds around the house of vacuuming, dishes, laundry and trash, I decided to do my daily walk with the family pooch!  Always eager to go anywhere, we set off on our usual 45-minute jaunt…only windier.  Normally, we see squirrels, ducks and geese, but the wind must have kept them all closer to home.  By the time we arrived home, I was sporting a very fashionable beehive from the 60s.  Complete with pine needles, twigs and leaves.  It’s a shame this hairstyle is no longer fashionable.

In any case, for some reason I was inspired to make this recipe.

For Robertito! 

He and I recall eating this a lot growing up.  It is rich and flavorful.  Her recipe card for this is even stained from the ingredients during each use.  Very tasty!

Flank Steak Marinade


2/3 cup ketchup
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup lemon juice
1 teaspoon celery seed
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
1 bay leaf
1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground pepper
1/4 teaspoon dried crushed basil
dash of Tabasco
1 1/2 lb. flank steak

Combine all ingredients together and simmer over medium heat, uncovered for 10 minutes.

Cool completely.  Pour over steak, cover and refrigerate for several hours.

2 thoughts on “Flank Steak Marinade

  1. >Great Marinade. Flank steak is my favorite steak to grill…I know, that may sound odd. I love steak salad, burritos, tacos, sandwiches and so on and this would work perfect. I am going to try this marinade next time.Thank you.

  2. Ah, there’s nothing like a walk on a windy day to create a new look for someone, is there! I’m thrilled that it also gave you the inspiration for this steak because it looks absolutely delicious. I like the pop that the Tabasco would give it. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

