Scones

My maternal grandmother was a hoot.  Her name was Connie and she was born in Argentina to British immigrants.  She had two older brothers, and eventually married her best friend’s brother, Ian.

I recall visiting my grandparents in Buenos Aires, when I was 9-years old.  I was on a train headed into the capital with my mother, brother and grandmother.  A couple boarded the train.  The man shoves the girl against the wall of the train and proceeds to make out with the woman in an extremely dramatic fashion.  I was a bit surprised.  Then, I caught a glimpse of my grandmother.  And I could see the hint of a woman that has known passion!  Grandma was part tart!

After my grandfather died, I learned a lot about her.  Once, she, my mother and stepfather showed up at my university to visit my brother and I.  At the time, Nutria fur coats were the rage in Argentina.  Yet, here in the USA, not so much.  It was a time of awareness here that animals died to make a coat for you.  But that didn’t stop Grandma.  She walked around our school campus like she was part of the British Royal Family!  I found this hysterical.  So, I started to call her “Abuelita Nutria”, which is Spanish for Nutria Granny.  And a nutria is a semi-aquatic rodent, smaller than a beaver, but still…a rat, as far as I am concerned.

Another memory I have is that once I was visiting my mother in Florida.  My grandmother was staying there too.  I used to love my mother’s roasted potatoes and when she asked what time of potato I wanted for dinner, and I told her how much I loved the roasted ones…my mother said that was a lot of trouble with the peeling of the potatoes.  I could sense how my grandmother was irritating my mother, so I suggested what I thought to be a fantastic idea, “Grandma and I can peel the potatoes.”  Much to my surprise, my grandmother responded, “Girlie.  I don’t know how to peel a potato.  Your grandfather used to cook.”  That statement blew me away.  I was under the impression that all grandmothers could cook and sew.  I just found out that my grandmother had been taken care of her whole life.

Much to my surprise, my grandmother’s scone recipe was in my mother’s recipe box.  So, she clearly made scones.  And yogurt (future post). 

I found this to be like a reward.  Ever since I decided to become a food writer, I have written articles, submitted recipes to magazines and contests.  One day, I decided to go over all of my published (magazines) work and was surprised to see that my scone recipes dominate. 

Apparently, Grandma and I have something in common.  In Memory of Constance Hilda Sly Prescott (1912 – 2001).  Here is her recipe for scones!

Scones
  • 2 cups sifted cake flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 5 tablespoons shortening
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/2 cup light cream (or milk)
  • 1 tablespoon lightly beaten egg white
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees, and place the shelf in the middle.
  2. Sift the dry ingredients into a bowl.  Rub the shortening into the dry mixture until the mixture looks like peas.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine the egg yolks, egg white and cream.  Mix thoroughly.
  4. Put the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.
  5. Shape the dough into a large circle about 6 inches in radius, and 1/2 inch thick.  Cut into 8 wedges.  Place on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 12 minutes.
  6. Remove when golden brown.
  7. Serve immediately with jam and clotted cream.
Yields: 8 scones
A fresh batch of homemade buttermilk scones.
Image via Wikipedia
4 thoughts on “Scones

Leave a Reply

