Rosettes


Last year for Christmas, Lori gave me this cute rosette and timbale kit. I had them on my Wish List, because at the time, I was on a Scandinavian baking kick. Unfortunately, the rosette kit disappeared in my cabinet in the height of my usual disorganization. Then, one day, I found it again.

Today, I decided to make pumpkin doughnuts and I walked into my kitchen and decided to make rosettes instead.

Before I tell you of my first rosette experience, I should share with you what the hell I am talking about! Right?

A rosette is a small fried pastry hailing from Scandinavia. Traditionally eaten around the holiday season, rosettes can be sweet or savory.

A timbale is also a small fried pastry from Scandinavia, but it is more of a pastry casing shaped like a heart, circle or square and used to hold a sweet or savory filling, such as fruit or mousse.

My set has three rosette choices and three timbale choices. I can make star, flower or bulls-eye rosettes, or heart, square or circle timbales.

To make one of these, you need to place the iron of choice onto the handle, dip the iron into hot oil until the iron is hot, then dip into the batter, and then immediately back into the oil. Once the dough is golden brown, the pastry can be removed from the oil, removed from the iron and placed on some paper towels. Then cinnamon sugar can be sprinkled on top, or powdered sugar or salt.

Easy to make, extremely flavorful (being it is fried) and a great treat during the holidays!

Tradtional Rosettes and Timbales

2 eggs

1 tbsp. granulated sugar

1 cup whole milk

1 cup sifted flour

1/4 tsp. sea salt

1 tbsp. vanilla extract

powdered sugar or cinnamon sugar for dusting

1 quart canola oil

Using a mixer, beat eggs well. Add the sugar and continue to beat. Slowly pour the milk into the mixture.

Add the flour, salt and vanilla and mix well.

Pour the batter into a shallow dish, such as a pie pan. The batter will be thin.

Heat the oil to 350 degrees in s skillet. Immerse the iron into the oil until the mold is hot. Blot any excess oil.

Dip the hot iron into the batter so that the batter covers the sides, but NOT the top of the mold.

Immerse the mold again, covering completely in oil. When the bubbling ends, and the pastry is golden brown, remove from the oil. Gently tap the mold, and the pastry should come off easily.

Allow to cool enough to handle and sprinkle with powdered sugar or cinnamon sugar.

Yields: 50 Rosettes or Timbales or a combination of both.

~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*

As you can see, I need help with the photograph!  If you like, please try my recipe and re-take the photograph.  I can provide a reciprocal link and we can share traffic!!!

© 2011 Jennifer A. Wickes All Rights Reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced without written consent from the author.

4 thoughts on “Rosettes

  1. We make rosettes every year for our annual smorgasbord at church. These are always the biggest hit at the cookie table and so delicious! I’ll see if I can snag a rosette photo from anyone at church to share with you.

  2. Those are so cool! I’ve never seen them before (not too familiar with Scandinavian cooking!) I bet they taste fabulous. They LOOK fabulous 🙂

    Buzzed!

    Oh, and callaloo is more like spinach. It’s green that’s grown in tropical climates and has this lovely purple color around the base.

Leave a Reply

