Pumpkin Dip with Apples

Every fall, I become excited with the change of weather. The leaves turning colors with the smell of fires burning in the air. It was cool enough to wear sweaters, but still, not too cold. My birthday is in October, so as a child, I loved to see how the world prepared for the season in which my birthday was. Just two weeks later, would be a child’s favorite holiday, Halloween. How I loved to dress up and go trick or treating. I, also, like the idea of witches, ghosts and goblins. Pumpkins, nuts, pears, apples and other sorts of new produce was available at the stores.

As an adult, I still get those warm feelings when I think of autumn approaching. Now, as a mother, I try to find new ways to present seasonal produce to my children. Food that is healthy yet flavorful to the mouth and visually appealing.

This recipe is a favorite of mine and my family after discovering it in my All-New Complete Cooking Light Cookbook. The recipe is tasty, healthful recipe which is spicy and rich. It tastes like pumpkin cheesecake!

I have tried a vegan version for my friend by using a soy cream cheese, and I have also used pear slices, and crackers. Easy to pack for lunches, it is also a nice after-school snack for kids, as well as a great appetizer for an upcoming holiday party.

Pumpkin Dip
Cooking Light, OCTOBER 2003

Ingredients
3/4 cup (6 ounces) 1/3-less-fat cream cheese
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup canned pumpkin
2 teaspoons maple syrup
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
24 apple slices

Preparation
Place first 3 ingredients in a medium bowl, and beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended. Add syrup and cinnamon, and beat until smooth. Cover and chill 30 minutes. Serve with apple.

Yield
12 servings (serving size: 2 tablespoons dip and 2 apple slices)

Nutritional Information
CALORIES 107(27% from fat); FAT 3.2g (sat 2g,mono 0.9g,poly 0.1g); IRON 1mg; CHOLESTEROL 10mg; CALCIUM 35mg; CARBOHYDRATE 18.3g; SODIUM 87mg; PROTEIN 2g; FIBER 1.4g

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Dip with Apples

Leave a Reply

