Toasted Oat Marshmallow Bars with Fruit and Nuts

I love sweets! Just ask my family! They will tell you how I have no self-control! My waistline gives it away too!

But after my first son was born, I decided I would try to find healthier ways of presenting fun food, and just present those occasions less frequently.

When my son started having lunch at school last year, I decided to make an old recipe with a new twist. Easy, fast, and the kids can help!

Toasted Oat Marshmallow Bars with Fruit and Nuts

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 4 cups mini-marshmallows
  • 4 cups toasted oat cereal
  • 1 cup dried fruit, such as cranberries, raisins or apricots
  • 1 cup blanched chopped nuts, such as almonds or walnuts
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg (optional)
  1. In a large pot over low heat, melt the butter. Add the marshmallows and stir until completely melted.
  2. Add the cereal, fruit, nuts and spices. Stir until completely coated.
  3. Spray a 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan. Using wax paper, press the mixture into the pan. Allow the mixture to cool completely.

Yields: 12 servings

Store in an airtight container at room temperature up to 3 days.

One thought on “Toasted Oat Marshmallow Bars with Fruit and Nuts

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

