Apple Cake

Apple cake
Image by 3liz4 via Flickr

I have a stack of apples, and have thought about making a pie.  That is what you do with apples in the fall, right?  Anyway, I recall a distant memory.  I must have been five or six.  It was in Ohio, and my parents took us to this huge house in the country.  Inside, there were apples, apple butter, apple pies, pumpkins, those peppermint sticks, cinnamon….Just everything about autumn.  I loved the smells of the spices, the scent of a fire burning in the distance.  The leaves were a golden orange and I knew my birthday and Halloween were coming.  It was my favorite time of the year.

It still is!  But it is also Justin’s birthday too, as well as the anniversary of when Dave and I met.

So, I decided to pull out my mother’s apple cake recipe and indulge the season!

Apple Cake
  • 2 cups apples, peeled and diced
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
  • dash of salt

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Put your oven rack to the middle shelf.  Grease and flour an 8″ x 8″ pan.

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl.  If needed, you can add 2 – 3 tablespoons of water if the mixture is not moist enough.

Bake for one hour.

Yields: 6 pieces

Note from Jennifer:  Consider adding a crumb topping.

~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*

4 thoughts on “Apple Cake

  1. >That's not a fun way to wake up! Your mother's cake looks wonderful. This is apple season, and there are tons on the back counter at work. I'll take some and try this. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

