Chili Con Carne

A sauce containing tomato puree, diced tomatoe...
Image via Wikipedia

One of my husband’s favorite meals is Chili Con Carne. When I first had to make this for him, it was a very frustrating task. With memories on how his mother’s tasted, I was set up to fail. Then, one day, we learned of his high cholesterol and so I was determined to make his favorite meal, but healthier.

I set myself on a path of figuring out how to fool him. You see, my husband has numerous food phobias and hang-ups. This makes life very tricky, but this time, I was up for the challenge.

The first thing to go from the old recipe was the ground beef. If you know my husband, a chili without meat is not chili, so I found a replacement in ground turkey. And I decided to only add half the amount from my previous recipe.

Vegetables are excellent for everyone, but important if you want to lower your cholesterol. So, I added more in this recipe.

Studies vary on this, but the articles that tell me what I want to hear say that beer and red wine may actually help you keep your cholesterol down. So, if you know my husband, that is a bonus he did not expect. So…add a bottle to your dish.

Then, beans. Good source of protein AND fiber. To keep things interesting, I mix it up with kidney, black and pinto beans.

Finally, I came up with a chili that was flavorful, more healthy and did not sit in my stomach like bricks. What made life so much more pleasurable was that my husband LOVED it!

David’s Favorite Chili

1 green bell pepper, minced

1 red bell pepper, minced

1 onion, minced

4 celery stalks, finely sliced

1 pound ground turkey

1 15 oz. can tomato sauce

12 ounces beer

2 15.5 oz. can diced tomatoes

1 15 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 15 oz. can kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1 15 oz. can pinto beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

2 teaspoons salt

2 teaspoons chili powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon cumin

1 teaspoon oregano

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1/4 cup masa corn flour

1. Saute the onions, peppers and celery in a stock pot over medium heat for 5 minutes. Add the meat and cook.

2. Add the beer, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes and cook over low heat until it simmers.

3. Add seasonings and beans, continue to cook another hour.

4. Add masa flour to thicken. Cook an additional 10 minutes.

Serving Ideas: Top with shredded cheese, sliced black olives, sour cream, chopped tomatoes, chopped onions and / or chopped avocado.

Also, great over hot dogs, spaghetti, or accompanied with Ritz crackers or corn bread.

Yields: 8 servings

3 thoughts on “Chili Con Carne

Leave a Reply

