Restaurant Review: La Fusta

Matambre_2

La Fusta Restaurant is an Argentinean restaurant located in North Bergen, NJ with and another location in Elmhurst, NY.

On Sunday, October 16th, my family and I climbed into out car and made the 90 minute trek to La Fusta in North Bergen.  It was my birthday and being my deceased mother was from Argentina, I wanted to celebrate that part of my life!

The restaurant was pretty easy to find, despite it’s less than appealing location.  La Fusta is located on a busy road next to Wendy’s. We were relieved to see that they had adequate parking behind the restaurant.

Having lived in Argentina myself, I noticed that the atmosphere was typically Argentine,.  Dark wooded walls and a bar created a warm atmosphere.  Photos upon photos of Argentinean polo players and their horses decorated the walls.  To the average American, the view of cloth tablecloths, napkins and a proper place settings may make you feel like you are in a dressy atmosphere, but fear not.  This is part of their dining culture.

The waiting staff was impeccable.  Not only were they attentive and friendly, but they did not hover and make you feel uncomfortable.  Having been a long time since I have spoken Spanish, I made the attempt to order for my family.  Our waiter understood me completely and did not give me any feeling that I was a Yankee trying to massacre their language.

The prices at this restaurant were a little high, but you are paying for high quality meat and the atmosphere.  As this was my birthday, we were not disappointed by the pricing at all.  But be prepared to pay anywhere from $15 – $30 per plate.

They do have a children’s menu and there were children there.  Argentines are very family oriented and love children.  So, feel free to bring the kids.

Argentina’s main food culture is surrounding beef.  There is plenty of beef on the menu, with chicken, pastas, pork and some fish.  Unfortunately, I did not see any vegetarian options.

The food itself was tasty, authentic and my entire family enjoyed.  It arrived timely and was prepared to our specifications.  My youngest ordered from the Kid’s Menu.  He did enjoy his Chicken Fingers and French Fries.  My near 12-year old ordered 1/2 Skirt Steak with French Fries.  It came with chimichurri, Argentina’s grilled meat sauce made from parsley, garlic, hot peppers, olive oil and oregano.  My husband ordered the  Chicken and Filet Mignon Scarpariello with Linguini.  I ordered the Stuffed Rolled Flank Steak with Russian Salad as an appetizer, and the Chicken Milanese with French Fries.  Considering the price of each meal, the portions were large, so we took home what we could not eat.

We had a great experience, and would definitely eat there again.

La Fusta Restaurant, 1110 Tonnelle Avenue, North Bergen, NJ 07047 201-770-1965

Miscellaneous:

  • Wheelchair Accessible
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non-Smoking
  • Full Bar

PHOTOS

2 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: La Fusta

Leave a Reply

