Salsa Golf – Argentine All-Purpose Sauce

Salsa Golf is an Argentine invention.  Rumor has it that Nobel laureate Luis Federic Leloir invented this cold sauce in the 1920’s.  He was tired of dipping his shrimp into mayonnaise, so he asked the waiter to bring him some ingredients, such as mayonnaise, lemon juice, vinegar, ketchup and spices.  The resulting mixture was termed Salsa Golf in honor of the Golf Club he was staying at in Mar del Plata.

Since then, the sauce has morphed into several tangy and spicy sauces incorporating more local ingredients, as well as adapting to bring back memories of other cultures within the country.  All of them has the original Salsa Golf base of a lot of mayonnaise with a touch of ketchup, resulting in a smooth creamy spread.

This sauce can be used on  hearts of palm, meats, seafood, as a salad dressing, with French fries and on sandwiches.

My first encounter was in 1977, when we went to Argentina to see my grandparents, aunt and cousins.  It was not my favorite as I never enjoyed ketchup as I found it to be too sweet.  I still am not a fan of ketchup.  Also, at that time, mayonnaise was such an interesting condiment.  It was great when added to egg salad and sandwiches, but too much and the meal was ruined for me.

On my second trip to Argentina in 1985, I would see my cousins slather it on their hamburgers and sandwiches.  So, I tried it again.  It was not bad.  It was not bad at all.

After that, my mother and I spoke about Salsa Golf.  It must have been in the year 2000.  I thought adding a bit of Worcestershire sauce to it, would give it a punch that is missing from the mere mixing of mayonnaise and ketchup.  Her face lit up at the mere possibilities.  So, we chatted and thought it through and then came up with this recipe!  The result is a smooth, creamy spread with a bit of a bite from brandy and the smokiness from Worcestershire sauce.  This recipe is definitely worth it!

Jennifer and Joan’s Salsa Golf

1 cup mayonnaise
2 tablespoons ketchup
1 teaspoon brandy
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
salt and pepper, to taste
Mix ingredients together and store in the refrigerator.
Yields: 1 cup or 16 servings

~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*~~~*

Want to try this recipe?  Please do!  Take a picture and I will link back to your blog and we can share traffic!

2 thoughts on “Salsa Golf – Argentine All-Purpose Sauce

  1. Jennifer, I have never heard of this. Looks really delicious. I adore ketchup and mayonnaise so I would have no problem with it. If you made your own ketchup you might like this better – with homemade you can control the sweetness. I make my own all the time. I make it spicier.

Leave a Reply

